Cairo – July 2012

Cairo - July 2012

This is one of my favourite photos from when I went to Cairo (briefly) in summer. I feel that it completely captures Cairo in one shot, showing the peace at the time (we were there in a brief pause in the unrest and during Ramadan) but alluding to the issues that still face society in Egypt. If I am completely honest I hated Cairo when I was there, it was dirty, 42℃ and we felt like we had to have a constant guard up. However, since returning home, I have become really interested in Egypt and issues facing this country and its people. Cairo is a huge and populous city plagued with issues. Pollution is one, politics is another and women’s rights and public safety feature prominently on an ever-growing list. I want to get involved, but I am not really sure how.

Leave a Reply

